Spiced Apple Cranberry Cider (hot)

Whatcom County was supposed to get some snow today (it snowed last night in the county, but not in town), so for my recipe demo this week I thought something that would warm up customers would be the best bet.

My own cranberry cider “bog” © Sassy Sampler 2011

We have some beautiful, fresh, Washington grown cranberries in our produce departments right now that we buy farmer-direct.  Bellewood Acres has also been supplying us with their delicious cider (one of the reasons I love Fall so much!) and I thought it would be fun to combine the two into a hot and tasty cider.

I couldn’t find a recipe using fresh cranberries online, so I decided to make it up as I went along.  Making spiced cider is very easy, and adding the cranberries doesn’t complicate things much at all.  I simply added a pound of fresh (and washed) cranberries to a gallon of the local cider in a large stockpot.  To that I added in cinnamon sticks, some whole cloves, and I sliced a lemon and tossed that in for a little more acidity.  So it wouldn’t be too sour, I added just over a 1/4 cup of organic, raw dark agave syrup, although you could use just about any sweetener – honey would be good, as would a little light brown sugar.  I let that simmer for a few hours and when I was ready to serve it I strained it out and served it up – it was just the right amount of tart and the smell made my mouth water!  I’ll note that the longer you let it simmer, the more integrated the flavors are, but I tried it after and hour and it was great – don’t worry if you don’t have a couple or few hours to let it simmer.

It was the perfect thing to serve today – while there was no snow it was still cold, and almost nothing tastes better than a hot cup on cider this time of year!  Customers were very appreciative to have a hot beverage to sample as they shopped and they all thought it tasted really great.

Spiced Apple Cranberry Cider © Sassy Sampler 2011

Hot Spiced Apple Cranberry Cider

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 gallon apple cider
  • 1 # fresh cranberries, rinsed
  • 1 small lemon, washed and thinly sliced
  • 4 cinnamon sticks
  • 1 1/2 t whole cloves
  • ~ 1/4 c agave syrup (or other sweetener like honey or light brown sugar)

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. In a large stockpot, combine all ingredients and bring to a boil over high heat.
  2. Reduce heat to low and simmer, covered, for an hour or two, stirring occasionally.
  3. Taste to see if you need to add any more sweetener (if so, add by the T and let it cook for about 5 more minutes).
  4. Remove cranberries, lemon, and spices from cider by pouring cider through a strainer into a heat-proof container.  Press cranberries into strainer with the back of a spoon to remove as much juice as possible.
  5. Serve hot, with a slice of apple for garnish!

Apple Cranberry Cider PDF

One thought on “Spiced Apple Cranberry Cider (hot)

  1. Pingback: Range Kleen Blog » Hot Cranberry Cider!

Leave a Reply

