Any Butter (but butter) Cookies

This week I “discovered” a new (to me) cookie recipe. I’ve come to find out the basic recipe has been around forever under many different names (Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies, Easy PB Cookies, the Best PB Cookies – you get the idea). They all have gotten really rave reviews, and I love easy recipes that need ingredients that you already have in your kitchen. This cookie has no flour or butter, and you would never miss either ingredient. They are crispy on the outside and chewy in the center – the best combination for a cookie!

I decided to go a little outside the box when I baked up a couple batches for my recipe demo. I made the classic peanut butter version, but peanut allergies are very common, and I had heard that these cookies worked great with almond butter as well. Well, that’s too easy, so I decided to make some with sunflower seed butter. Sunflower seed butter is tasty, and something that a lot of people haven’t tried before. The one we carry at the Co-op (Sunbutter Sunflower Seed Spread) is produced in a nut-free facility, so it is safe to consume if you are allergic to any or all nuts.It is made with 100% roasted sunflower seeds, so it is also certified gluten-free. We carry a few versions of it, but I used the organic variety.

Sunbutter Cookies © Sassy Sampler 2011

Both batches of cookies were a great success and got high marks from my tasters. Personally, I have never tasted a more peanut buttery cookie, and the sunflower cookies were a big hit (I also toasted some sunflower seeds and added them to the batter). One other thing I did that might not be the norm – when I made the classic criss-cross pattern in the top of the cookies, I dipped my fork in sea salt for the “criss” and in sugar for the “cross”. Both cookies tasted great with the savory salt and the sweet sugar on top, but the sunflower version benefited the most.

You can use any nut or seed butter when you make these cookies (hence my new name for the cookie!).Pumpkin butter ones would be great during the holidays, and I’m definitely adding chocolate chips the next time I make them!

photo nut butter cookies

Any Butter (but butter) Cookies © 2011 Sassy Sampler

Any Butter (but butter) Cookies

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 c nut or seed butter (peanut, almond, sunflower, etc.)
  • 3/4 c sugar
  • ~1/4 t sea salt (only if your nut/seed butter is unsalted)
  • 1 large egg, beaten
  • 1 t baking soda

Optional Extras (use about 1/3 c for dry additions)

  • Toasted sunflower seeds (if using sunflower butter)
  • Chocolate chips
  • Toasted pumpkin seeds (if using pumpkin butter)
  • 1 t vanilla extract

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350° and either lightly grease 2 cookie sheets or line them with parchment paper.
  2. Beat together the nut/seed butter and sugar in a large bowl with an electric mixer (or in a stand mixer) until smooth, about 5 minutes.
  3. Add beaten egg and baking soda to any butter mixture and beat until well combined, about 3 minutes.  Add in any “extras”.  The dough will be crumbly and loose.
  4. Form 1 t of dough into a ball and place on cookie sheet, 1” apart.
  5. Flatten cookies with the tines of a slightly wet fork in a criss-cross pattern; dip fork in salt for “criss” and sugar for the “cross”.
  6. Bake until lightly golden/browned, about 8-10 minutes.
  7. Cool cookies on baking sheet for about 2 minutes and then transfer with a spatula to a wire rack to cool.

Cookies may be kept in an airtight container at room temperature for 5 days.

You can decrease the sugar to 1/2 c or put in up to 1 c of sugar, depending on how sweet your nut or seed butter is and how sweet you want the cookies.

The egg is the “glue” in this cookie—you can use an alternate sugar (honey, agave, brown rice syrup, etc.), but you’ll have to adjust the amount of sweetener you add (depending on it’s sweetness).  Try about 1/3 c for a liquid sweetener.  Granulated coconut sugar isn’t recommended as the cookies aren’t in the oven long enough for it to bond with the nut/seed butter.

Slightly increase cooking time if you make larger cookies.

Any Butter (but butter) Cookies PDF

You can find a chocolate/cashew adaptation of this recipe at My Field Days – Yum!

4 thoughts on “Any Butter (but butter) Cookies

  1. I made another batch this weekend using half dark brown sugar and half regular sugar, and I added chocolate chips…dare I say that they were the best cookies I have ever made…?!?

  2. Pingback: Chocolate Cashew Cookies | field-days.com

Leave a Reply

