4-H Super Saturday and Healthy Snacks for Kids

Today I taught a healthy snacks cooking class for our local 4-H kids.  Every year our local 4-H organization, run by the Washington State University Extension Office, holds a “Super Saturday” – a day full of fun classes that participants can take that is held at Meridian High School.  They can choose four classes (each a one hour “period”) ranging from decorating rocks, learning to tie fishing flies, bicycle safety,  how to raise backyard poultry, and of course, my Healthy Snacks class.

4-H kids (and parents) making their own trail mix

Those of you who have read since last year know that we made granola bars when I last taught this class, and while the kids loved it, it made for a very hectic hour.  This year I wanted it to be a lot less stressful (for me) but still fun, so I decided that trail mix would be a good alternative.  I also made a couple healthy dips for them to try, and then sent them home with the recipes so they could recreate them at home.  I had thirteen kids in my class this year, and some of them took the class last year, so it was fun to see them again.

First we made the trail mix –  I had organic almonds, walnuts and roasted peanuts, as well as organic raisins, banana chips and rolled dates.  I also supplied some organic sunflower and pumpkin seeds, and because trail mix is always more exciting with a little sweet stuff, I also had some organic dark chocolate chips and some blueberry yogurt covered raisins.  They had fun concocting their own mix, and everyone happily munched away!

4-H kids (and parents) trying the healthy dips.

Next I brought out the dips for them to try – the first was the “Raw” Caramel Dip from a past post, and the other was a Ranch-style dip that could easily be made at home.  I served the caramel dip with Lady Alice apples – grown in Washington, they are the most delicious apple I have tasted in a long time – you should definitely get into the Co-op to try these apples while we’ve got them!  I cut up some English cucumber (grown in British Columbia) and organic green and red bell peppers, and we had some organic baby carrots to taste the ranch-style dip with (recipe is below).  It was fun to hear all their comments on the caramel dip – one taster said it tasted like cookie dough (which she loves) and the kids gobbled it right up.  I of course waited until they had all tried it to tell them that it was made from cashews and dates!

All in all, I think the participants all had fun, and I know I did.  One student even gave me a painting she made of a tiger in a boat, which I thought was really sweet.  I will definitely be on board for Super Saturday next year!

Ranch-style dip

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 teaspoons granulated or minced garlic
  • 3 Tablespoons dried onion flakes
  • 2 teaspoons ground pepper
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons paprika
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons dried parsley flakes
  • 1—1 1/2 teaspoons sea salt

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Combine all ingredients in a jar and shake to combine.
  2. Combine 2 t mix with 1/2 c Greek yogurt.
  3. Store leftover mix in the jar and use as needed!

Healthy Snacks for Kids of all Ages PDF

5 a Day handout for 4H PDF

5 thoughts on “4-H Super Saturday and Healthy Snacks for Kids

  1. Hey Melissa this was a great idea. Not messy, easy, and everyone have fun. I notice you mention that last time you made granola bar. Do you happen to have that link on here for me to take a look:) I love granola bars.

  2. wow that is great that you had 13 in your class! Kids really do like healthy snacks if they learn that they taste good!
    Can’t wait to try your caramel apple dip and I definitely need to head over to the Co-op to try and get some of those apples.

    • I am a huge fan of the caramel dip (as were the kids) – and we’ve still got the Lady Alice apples at both stores too! We should have them for another couple weeks or so. They taste like “childhood” to me, that’s the best I can explain it…

Leave a Reply

