Thanksgiving Recipes

We are nearing the biggest holiday in the grocery industry, and you can feel the excitement at the Co-op already.  The Shelton’s turkeys arrived today and are being priced as we speak, so that means only one thing – it is almost Thanksgiving!

In anticipation, I thought I might share some great recipes for the holiday.  I am a big planner when it comes to Thanksgiving – I have a folder at home with all my receipts, recipes, and time lines/checklists  from holidays past to aid in my planning.  I am a little obsessive about it, but it makes for a really smooth day when I’m using every inch of available space in my tiny kitchen!  I also like to make everything I can in advance, and the green bean casserole recipe can be made a day in advance and then just popped in the oven on the big day.

Here are some tasty recipes and handy tips.  Enjoy!

Carve Turkey like a Pro PDF

Let’s talk turkey safety PDF

Turkey 101 PDF

Brining a turkey – I usually use 1 cup  sugar and 1 cup of the least expensive salt that we have in bulk for a 12# bird.  I put the sugar and salt in a heavy plastic bag and mix in enough water to dissolve as much of it as possible (just squoosh it around in the bag).  I then add the turkey and enough water to cover it, put it in a large stock pot (in case the bag leaks) in the fridge.  I usually let it sit for 10 – 12 hours.  You can find some more information here.

gluten-free = GF

Classic Green Bean Casserole PDF (GF option)

GF Southern Cornbread PDF (from www.glutenfreecookingschool.com)

GF Cornbread Dressing PDF (from www.glutenfreecookingschool.com)

Wild Rice Stuffing PDF

Suzanne’s Old Fashioned Pumpkin Pie (GF if you make a gluten-free pie crust)

Apple Turnovers (The apple filler recipe can be used in an apple pie – see the original post for a recipe for a streusel topping.  The best GF pie crust I have found is made using Pamela’s Products GF Bread Mix Easy Pie Crust recipe)

Bittersweet Chocolate Pudding Pie (GF option if you make a gluten-free crust or use Glutino’s GF wafer cookies)

Cookie Crumb Pie Shell (from www.dianaskitchen.com)  You can use GF cookies in the recipe.

You can also try the GF Graham cracker recipe, but instead of making crackers, roll out the dough and treat it like pastry dough – the edges might fall if you make it too thin, but in theory I can’t see why it wouldn’t work as a pie shell!  It would be great for pumpkin pie (especially with the Vegan Pumpkin Mousse) or for chocolate cream pie…

Leave a Reply

