Easy Vegan Chocolate Cake with “Fluffy” Berry Sauce

I am so excited to tell everyone that the Swan Bakery has developed a stellar instant chocolate cake mix – both traditional wheat and gluten-free!  I have been waiting to demo it since I first heard they were planning this, and it was worth the wait.

This cake mix takes about 5 minutes to make, including cleaning your bowl!  Seriously!  I made one of each cake for my demo, and both turned out great.  When I tasted the final product (the GF cake, of course!), I was elated – it was the closest to wheat flour based cake that I have ever tasted.  This GF cake could fool anyone, and the fact that it is vegan as well only adds to the (well intentioned) deception!

I used organic canola oil and water when I prepared the cake, and since the cake is so easy to make, I wanted an easy topping to go with it.  I make a blackberry and blueberry sauce in the summer when I can just go pick berries, and I asked our frozen buyer to contact Northwest Wild Foods and to ask them if I could have a couple bags of their Wild Harvest local berries to make the sauce for my demo (they generously said yes, and will be at Cordata in a couple weeks to demo themselves!).  The sauce turned out delicious (I had never made it with frozen berries). I also thought that the RiceMellow creme that we sell (vegan marshmallow creme) would be an easy and tasty topping so I went with that.  The finished product was very pretty, and tasted fantastic!

Vegan Chocolate Cake with "Fluffy" Berry Sauce Photo © 2010 Sassy Sampler

Easy Vegan Chocolate Cake with “Fluffy” Berry Sauce

INGREDIENTS

1 package Swan Bakery Chocolate Cake mix (either the GF or wheat variety)

1 c canola or grape seed oil

2 c water or soymilk

1T vinegar (apple cider or white)

1 package frozen berries of choice

Sweetener (sugar or other)

Suzanne’s RiceMellow Creme

Instructions

1. Prepare cake mix as directed on package.  Cook in a 9×13 pan.

2. Remove cake from oven, and let cool on wire rack.

3. While cake is cooling, place berries in saucepan and cook over med low heat.  Sprinkle with about a tablespoon of sweetener.  Stir frequently.  Taste as it reduces into a sauce to see if you need to add more sweetener.  Try not to let it boil too vigorously.

4. Once berries have broken down, remove pan from heat and let it cool for about 5 minutes.

5. Add berry mixture to blender (see note, or use an immersion blender) and pulse on low to break up any chunks of berries that may be left.

6. Put sauce through a fine mesh strainer or cheesecloth to remove any seeds and skins and place in bowl to cool.  Stir occasionally.

7. Once cake and sauce are cool, spread about half of the sauce over the cake (you can either remove the cake from the pan or leave it in!).

8. Drop RiceMellow in spoonfuls onto cake and spread it around as best as you can.  You should use the whole container.

9. Pour remaining berry sauce over “frosting”.

10. Cut and enjoy!

Notes:

  • Never fill a blender with boiling hot liquid —it will explode out the top and burn you!  Always let it cool slightly and never fill more than half full.  Put the lid on (but not tightly), and cover the lid with a dry towel.  Be sure to “burp” the lid.  Use the slowest speed possible.  Puree in batches.
  • If you can eat dairy, try replacing some (up to half) of the water with milk.
  • A customer suggested using coconut oil in place of the canola or grape seed, and I thought this was a good suggestion, but I haven’t tried it myself – let me know if you do!

I am preparing the April Meal of the Month as I write this, Carrot Ginger Soup served with Avenue Bakery Rosemary Loavette.  It smells amazing, and I’ll be sampling it in about an hour – stop by the store if you are in the area!

3 thoughts on “Easy Vegan Chocolate Cake with “Fluffy” Berry Sauce

  1. Thank you so much for sharing this awesome recipe! I love your photos and your blog!

    My company, http://www.WholesomeChow.com, offers Decadent Vegan Cake Baking Mixes in flavors like Lavender, Chai Spice, Lemon Poppyseed, Chocolate, Vanilla and more!

    Check out our website for more information!

    Much love,

    Chef Veronica
    http://www.WholesomeChow.com
    fresh. natural. always delicious fun.

  2. Pingback: Chocolate Tres Leches Cake « Sassy Sampler

  3. Pingback: My Montana Adventure |

Leave a Reply

