Easy Chocolate Truffles

I wanted to do something easy for my in-store demo at Cordata yesterday because today I am heading out to Meridian High School to teach a cooking class for 4H Super Saturday.  I have to admit that was my real focus this week, but I didn’t want to disappoint for my demo.  Easy chocolate truffles seemed like a great solution!

I got the recipe from a Martha Stewart magazine years ago, but had never made these truffles (I tend to collect recipes and make them years later).  Boy, have I been missing out!  As with most of the Martha Stewart recipes I have made, as I was making them I felt that the original recipe was a little to tedious to be called easy, so I changed them as I saw fit.  There is a little bit of waiting time in this recipe, but it’s always great to be able to walk away from a recipe to do other things if you need to, and not have to worry about ruining it.  Even if you leave these in the fridge a little too long before you shape them, you would just need to let them warm up in your kitchen so the ganache is pliable again.

Here’s the recipe, they are gluten-free and egg free.  I used the Fresh Breeze Heavy Whipping cream because I love their milk (they just came out with chocolate milk, and all I can say is YUM!) and they run a really great dairy farm, with a lot of concern for the animals and how they process the milk…and it’s organic!

I’ll let you know next week how the cooking class went with the 4H kids – we’re making granola bars (though not the gluten-free version from an earlier post).  Also, and totally unrelated, we just got fresh, “crazy” wild (in the words of Assistant Manager Ted Devine) halibut caught in the San Juans delivered to our Meat departments.  First of the season!!!

Easy Chocolate Truffles Photo © 2010 Sassy Sampler

Easy Chocolate Truffles

INGREDIENTS

1 pound bittersweet chocolate

1 c heavy cream

Unsweetened Cocoa powder for dusting (1/8—1/4 c)

Instructions

1. Chop chocolate finely using a serrated knife, and place in the largest heat-proof bowl you have, preferably a metal one.

2. Bring cream just to a boil over medium-high heat; pour directly over chopped chocolate.  Allow to sit for 10 minutes.

3. Use a rubber spatula to gently stir chocolate and cream until combined.  Allow to sit at room temperature until just thickened, about 15 more minutes.

4. Cover with plastic wrap, and refrigerate until mixture is very cold and set (but still pliable) for about 30 minutes.

5. Using a small spoon or melon baller, scoop out ganache into 1” nuggets.  Place on a parchment-lined baking sheet (chill for 10 minutes if your kitchen is warm).

6. Use your fingertips to mold truffles into round shapes.  Don’t roll in your palms as it will transfer too much heat to the truffle.

7. Put enough cocoa powder in the bowl you used to make the ganache to coat all your truffles (about 1/8 –1/4 c).  Place 4 –6 truffles in bowl and swirl to coat.  Repeat with remaining truffles.  Chill in an airtight container until ready to serve.

Leave a Reply

