Triple Chocolate Cookies (GF and Wheat Flour Recipes)

Anyone will tell you that I am a big fan of baking. If there is chocolate involved, you can count me in! I realized that I have been neglecting this passionate side of my cooking persona regarding the recipes I “test” for customers, so I decided that some delicious cookies would be in order for my last sampling demo in January.

I found a recipe years ago for Triple Chocolate Cookies that I think are fantastic, and since I knew they would be easily adapted for those of us that are gluten-free, I went for it. I don’t recall where this recipe came from – it is handwritten in my recipe notebook – so I either found it online (and didn’t have any ink in my printer so I copied it down) or it was from a magazine that I felt I couldn’t tear it out of.

At any rate, I have never had a moister, chocolaty-er cookie than this! Customers thought they tasted both like fudge and brownies, and were surprised at how soft they were. I made the gluten-free variety for my demo so everyone could partake in the yummy goodness, and too many people to count were amazed that they were in fact gluten-free. I had to swat some hands for taking too many samples (well, not really – but you know you’ve got a good thing when people can’t stop eating them, and they don’t call me the “Sassy Sampler” for nothing!).

If you are a new (or hesitant) baker, then here are a few tips:

  • For GF cooks – I made them with a couple different GF flour mixes in my conversion experiment (Bob’s and our own), and found that the Swan Bakery’s bulk GF Flour mix makes the cookies taste identical to the wheat flour version.
  • Make sure your eggs are room temperature (leave them out for at least a half hour before you start melting the chocolate). This is a good rule when you are baking and need to cream eggs – I don’t know the science behind it, but it does make for creamier, fluffier eggs!
  • The chocolate mixture should still be pretty warm when you add it to the egg mixture – don’t let it cool all the way or the recipe won’t work correctly.
  • If you have a convection oven (lucky you!!!), then you don’t need to worry about reversing the position of the half-baked cookies in the oven – this step is for those of us who need to assure even baking in a regular oven.
  • My “heaping Tablespoons” are in fact HEAPING Tablespoons, which is why I only make 24 cookies.If you make them smaller (and therefore more), then you may not need to bake them as long – take a peek about 8 minutes into your cooking time. When they are done, they should be shiny and a little poofy, with little cracks in the top (they will deflate some as they cool).

ENJOY!

photo triple chocolate cookies

Gluten-free Triple Chocolate Cookies © 2010 Sassy Sampler

GLUTEN-FREE (OR WHEAT) TRIPLE CHOCOLATE COOKIES

INGREDIENTS

  • 3 oz unsweetened chocolate, chopped
  • 3 c dark chocolate chips
  • 7 T unsalted butter, cut into chunks
  • 1/2 c co-op gluten-free flour mix (or unbleached wheat flour)
  • 1/4 t xanthan gum
  • 1/2 t baking powder
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 3 eggs, room temperature
  • 1 c sugar
  • 2 t vanilla

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Melt unsweetened chocolate, 1 1/2 c chocolate chips, and butter in double boiler until glossy.  (You can also improvise with a medium heat-proof glass bowl set on a saucepan.)  Let cool, stirring occasionally.  Fight the urge to eat the chocolate before you add it to your recipe.
  2. Mix flour, salt, xanthan gum and baking powder in a small bowl.
  3. Beat eggs and sugar with mixer (hand held or stand mixer) on medium speed in a large bowl for about 4 minutes until creamy and pale in color.  Add vanilla and mix to combine.
  4. Add  chocolate mixture and mix for 1 minute on low until fully combined.
  5. (Remove bowl from mixer.) Fold in your flour mixture.
  6. Fold in 1 1/2 c chocolate chips.
  7. Cover with plastic and let sit at room temperature for 30 minutes.  Preheat oven to 350° F.  Put oven racks in upper middle and upper lower positions.
  8. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.  Drop dough in heaping Tablespoons on sheets, about 1” apart.
  9. Bake, reversing position of the baking sheets halfway through baking (from top to bottom and front to back), until edges of cookies have just begun to set but centers are still very soft, about 10 –11 minutes.  Cookies will be shiny, with cracks on top, and will not look fully cooked.
  10. Cool cookies on sheets about 30 minutes, slide parchment with cookies on to wire racks, and cool to room temperature.  Store in airtight container.

You can add 2 t of instant coffee powder at the end of step three if desired.  You can also substitute 1/2 c of almond flour for the GF flour.  You can also add 3/4 c dark chocolate chips and 3/4 c white chocolate chips for more chocolate variety!

Gluten-free Triple Chocolate Cookies PDF

2/18/10 – I think this recipe may have come from Cook’s Country magazine originally, although I think it has only been in publication for a couple years and I have been making these cookies for longer than that…one day I will solve this mystery!

2 thoughts on “Triple Chocolate Cookies (GF and Wheat Flour Recipes)

Leave a Reply

