Gluten Free “Graham” Crackers

Mmmmm, graham crackers. Who doesn’t love them, right? If you can eat gluten, then this is something that you might take for granted – I know I did. (For those of you that don’t know, graham flour is made by grinding the whole wheat berry, including the bran.) When I made the switch to being gluten-free, it dawned on me that I might never have a tasty graham cracker again. I knew I would have to remedy this situation tout de suite.

I started with a Google search for recipes. About 173,000 hits came up, so I knew my work was cut out for me. I scoured through more than I could count before I found what I felt was the most likely candidate for a cracker that might fool you into thinking it wasn’t GF.

I found the winner at www.livingwithout.com – it’s a great resource for GF recipes. We all know someone who is gluten intolerant, so if you are looking for something to cook for GF guests, this is a good place to start. I had almost all the ingredients in my pantry already (they are similar to what you need for the GF Flatbread recipe), except for amaranth, quinoa, millet or oat flour the recipe called for, but I did have teff flour so I figured that this would be a worthy substitute.

I was still a little skeptical until they came out of the oven (smelling like childhood!) – I knew I had a winner. They had fantastic flavor and a commendable shelf life (they still tasted great over a week later after being stored in a plastic bag on my counter). The recipe makes about 36 crackers (depending on size) and costs about $2 more than the pre-packaged graham crackers I used to buy. The big difference is that I think these actually taste 10 times better, and you get more crackers than what is in the packages.

When I sampled the graham crackers yesterday for customers at Cordata, they were a huge hit. I knew that they could stand on their own, but I made mini s’mores with them using a little dollop of Suzanne’s Ricemellow cream (vegan marshmallow fluff – also GF!) and a little bit of shaved dark chocolate on top. I can’t even count how many people said that they expected the crackers to be bland or weird tasting and were then surprised at how amazing they were! You see that look of skepticism in their eyes as they take a bite, and then in an instant it’s replaced by “WOW” eyes. One customer came back as she finished shopping and told me that they were they best thing she had ever sampled in a store before! I had to agree with her, but of course I am biased because I make these all the time at home and savor every bite!

photo gluten-free graham crackers

Gluten-free Graham Crackers © 2010 Sassy Sampler

Gluten-Free Graham Crackers
MAKES ABOUT 3 DOZEN

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 ¼ c gluten-free flour mix (see below)
  • ½ c packed OG dark brown sugar
  • 1 ¾ t OG cinnamon
  • 1 t GF baking powder
  • 1/2 t xanthan gum
  • ½ t baking soda
  • ½ t sea salt
  • 7 T OG butter or margarine, cut into pieces
  • 3 T cold water
  • 3 T honey or agave
  • 1 t OG vanilla

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Mix together gluten-free flour mix, brown sugar, cinnamon, baking powder, xanthan gum, baking soda and salt.
  2. Using your fingertips, work butter into dry ingredients.
  3. Stir in 3 tablespoons cold water, honey and vanilla. If dough is too dry, add a little more cold water, a teaspoon at a time.
  4. Gather dough into a soft ball. Cover in plastic wrap and refrigerate for an hour or overnight.
  5. Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Lightly grease a cookie sheet and line with parchment paper.
  6. Cut two plastic bags (gallon size) down each parallel side so that each opens out into one long sheet, or cut two large pieces of parchment paper. Roll about half of the dough between the two sheets to about 1/8-inch thickness, depending on how thick you like your graham crackers.
  7. Cut into 2 x 3-inch pieces (or use a cookie cutter) and prick lightly all over with a fork and place on prepared baking sheet.Repeat with remaining dough.
  8. Bake for 12 to 15 minutes or until golden brown. If cookies spread and bake together, re-cut while still warm and loosen them. Let cookies cool slightly before transferring to cooling rack.

Gluten-Free Flour Blend

Makes 4 ¾ cups

  • 1 cup sorghum (or chickpea flour)
  • 1 cup tapioca starch
  • 1 cup corn starch (or potato starch or arrowroot)
  • ½ cup teff flour (or amaranth, millet, quinoa or oat flour)
  • ½ cup fine brown rice flour
  • ¾ cup white rice flour

Mix ingredients together until well blended. Keep refrigerated until used.

You can use these graham crackers in any way you normally would – as a pie crust, in another recipe, or just for snacking!

Gluten-free Graham Crackers  PDF

3 thoughts on “Gluten Free “Graham” Crackers

  1. Very interesting blog post thanks for sharing I have added your website to my bookmarks and will be back 🙂 By the way this is off subject but I really like your web page layout.

  2. Pingback: A Delicious Gluten-free Thanksgiving |

Leave a Reply

